#13for2013 #8 – Turn To The Left Turn To The Right – Fashion

August’s theme of ‘Fashion’ for #13for2013 was suggested early into July by Patrick and supported eloquently by Gem with the following words – an extract below:

For me, fashion and music go hand in hand on an obvious level. Fashion, or at least apparel, helps people identify themselves as being part of a group. Goths, punks, “I’m indie”… Short of wearing a band t-shirt, the way someone dresses is often the simplest way for them to nod to the kind of music they’re into…

Now I wouldn’t say I’m a fashion connoisseur by any means and my wardrobe is basically jeans and shirts so relatively boring. Maybe I should Partridge it up with some ice white shoes…

The most daring I get is pairing some Converse with a smart pair of trousers… I like to think this will mean I will go back and look at old photos of me and rather than saying “what WAS I thinking” I can just admire my relative fashion obscurity. Still, comfort over style and all that (I am seriously old at heart).

For this months challenge I decided to produce a list that was two outfits – night and day wear – and songs around those outfits. Style it out and all that…

Evening Dress

Suit and Tie – Justin Timberlake ft Jay Z

A smart suit and tie should be a staple of any modern mans wardrobe, no matter how wacky your fashion sense is.

Raspberry Beret – Prince

Add a little funk to that suit and tie with a killer raspberry beret. Don’t worry about the fashion police, they just won’t know what’s hit them.

Long Black Scarf – Belle & Sebastian

A nice scarf draped around ones neck always brings a sense of style to any occasion. Wear loosely around your shoulders or tied around your neck.

Dancing Shoes – Arctic Monkeys

When the evenings festivities get a little more rowdy, you’re going to want to cut some rug. Put on a pair of these and you’ll be fine.

Fashion Coat – The National

I don’t know specifically what a ‘Fashion Coat’ is but it’s a song that references an item of clothing AND the theme of the month so it’s allowed in. I think of it as a long, smart coat that you could easily wear over your shoulders and shrug off in an instant.

Walking Cane – Augie Rodola, Jr

Adding a walking cane to this ensemble would round off the outfit off quite perfectly.

Day Wear

Blue Jeans and White T-Shirts – The Gaslight Anthem

A simple yet effective choice. Your white t-shirt can either be a £4 offering from H&M or if you’re feeling particularly extravagant, why not a $120 one from Kanye West? No?

Red Belt – Tegan and Sara

A belt is a much needed accessory to any outfit and a red one adds a bit of colour and contrast to the blue and white.

Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat – Bob Dylan

Don’t let the plain old jeans and t-shirt look be just that. Spice things up with a delightful little pill-box hat to pop on top of your noggin.

Mr Moustache – Nirvana

Facial hair is a fashion statement. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. A moustache is for life, not just for November.

Sunglasses at Night – Corey Hart

The song says night, but you are not a fool. You wear your sunglasses during the day. I’m actually a little worried this outfit is looking a bit Village People at this point.

(The Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes

Red shoes, matching the red belt, bring this smart yet simple outfit to a delightful close both visually and aurally.

Leave a comment